Facts on Flanders & Belgium

The country of Belgium is a federal state comprising three communities (Flanders, Wallonia and Brussels), three regions (Dutch-speaking, French-speaking and German-speaking) and four language areas (Dutch, French, German, bilingual Dutch/French in the capital).

More facts and figures on Belgium can be found on belgium.be

Flanders (Dutch: Vlaanderen, French: Flandre) is the Dutch-speaking northern half of Belgium and forms a social, cultural, linguistic, economical and political community. The capital of Flanders is Brussels.

Some key facts and figures:

  • Population: 6,350,765 (Flemish Region only, 1 January 2012)
  • Density: 470/km² (1,200/sq mi)
  • Official language: Dutch
  • Area: 13,522 km² (5,221 sq mi)
  • Currency: Euro (€)
  • Time zone: Winter: CET (UTC+1), summer: CEST (UTC+2)

For more facts on Flanders, please visit flanders.be.